R.I.M. Porter Novelli

Organization of the international architectural competition “Changing the Face”

slide-10-

CHALLENGE

DuPont – one of the world’s largest scientific and industrial corporations, producing a wide range of chemical products used in various industries, including high tech innovative construction materials.

Changing The Face is an architecture competition that company has been holding since 2008. The idea behind it is to take a well-known yet old and in need of renovation building and as an alternative to its demolition or complete reconstruction, let architects to come up with a façade reconstruction project, using the latest technology that DuPont has to offer.

The aim of the competition – position DuPont as a leading global manufacturer of innovative solutions in architecture and construction through generating public debate about changing the architectural appearance of famous buildings.

Throughout the years the contest was held in many cities around the world. Leading architects have developed projects changing buildings appearance in Athens, Bucharest, Prague and Rome. Russia is a large developing market as building materials are concerned and promising in terms of increasing sales for DuPont. That inspired the company to hold a competition in Moscow.

SOLUTION

After considering a variety of options, at the suggestion of the agency an object for Moscow event was chosen. The Rossiya Cinema (also known as Pushkinsky Cinema) is a landmark building for the city due to its downtown location and historical value – for 50 years it was an official venue for the Moscow International Film Festival.

Agency secured an important partnership with Union of Architects of Russia presented by Andrei Bokov who headed an international jury.The jury was made up of architects from all over the world as well as cultural workers, such as director Alexey Uchitel.

A partnership with the Karo Film company – the owner of the building – was equally important as it potentially increased chances for winning projects form a base of a real reconstruction. The Moscow City Government along with the City Chief Architect enthusiastically supported the project.

Ongoing discussion and proclaimed intentions of the Moscow city authorities regarding cinema reconstruction were context of competition, yet the main communication strategy was aimed at generating media buzz, drew potential participants and resonate with audience while pointing the message in the direction of new facade technology implementation.

To accomplish those goals agency customized approach to different media. For business media the message was formed from the perspective of investment opportunities in reconstruction of important architectural objects, for political media – from the point of changing the face of downtown, for specialized architectural media contest was presented as a unique chance for architects to showcase their creative ideas and for media covering cinematography the message pinpointed a possible reconstruction of the famous movie theater and a venue of the Moscow International Film Festival.

The campaign combined a number of special projects. Dozhd (TV Rain) conducted a public opinion research to learn how citizens envision The Rossiya Cinema after reconstruction.

To announce the official start of the Changing The Face – Pushkinsky Cinema competition agency held a press conference. News quickly triggered interest among media and public.

Through professional seminars that took place in St. Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Moscow and Alma-Ata, organized together with DuPont in order to further interact and attract new participants, well-known international architects presented their projects and shared their experiences with DuPont solutions in construction and reconstruction of facades.

To promote competition among the members of international architectural community and attract more Russian and international participants agency focused on online channels, developing campaigns together with reputable architecture and design sites such as Architizer.com.

Agency developed a Russian version of www.changingtheface.com, the official website of the competition as well as took the campaign to social media (including blogs, forums and popular online media).

Central House of Architects hosted a gala celebration and winning design projects were displayed at an exhibition for few weeks after.

RESULT

Extensive international campaign targeted at generating public and media interest to the competition resulted in a record number of applications – 2591, from 96 countries, including 397 from Russia.

Comprehensive competition coverage in major business, political, specialized print and online media as well as relevant campaign in social media generated following results: 37,600 unique visitors to the official website of the competition – www.changingtheface.com; over 200 000 views of proposed design projects uploaded to the official competition page on Flickr.com; more than 15 000 video views on contest’s YouTube channel; over 380 publications in print and online media. More than 450 people attended workshops with well-known Russian and international architects.

During his welcome speech at the award ceremony, Vlodek Sobon, program curator of DuPont Changing the Face project, said: “Moscow is the sixth city where DuPont is holding an architectural competition. Number of proposals submitted by international architectural community this year significantly exceeded our wildest expectations, and their quality suggests that it is the best competition we’ve seen so far”.

All projects

Организация международного архитектурного конкурса “Changing the Face”

slide-10-

ЗАДАЧА

DuPont, одна из крупнейших в мире научных и индустриальных корпораций, выпускающая широкий спектр химических материалов для самых разных отраслей, в том числе высокотехнологичные инновационные материалы для строительства.

С 2008 DuPont проводит конкурсы архитектурных проектов «Changing The Face» («Меняя облик»). Его идея заключается в том, чтобы взять в качестве объекта известное, но уже достаточно старое и находящееся в плохом состоянии здание и, в качестве альтернативы его сноса и перестройки, предложить архитекторам разработать проект реконструкции его фасада с применением новейших технологий DuPont.

Таким образом, цель конкурса ― через развитие общественной дискуссии об изменении архитектурного облика известных зданий позиционировать DuPont в качестве ведущего мирового производителя высокоинновационных решений в архитектуре и строительстве.

За несколько лет конкурс прошёл во многих городах мира. Ведущие архитекторы разработали проекты изменения облика известных зданий в Афинах, Бухаресте, Праге и Риме.

Поскольку Россия представляет собой большой развивающийся рынок сбыта строительных материалов, перспективный с точки зрения увеличения продаж для DuPont, компания обратилась в агентство с идей провести конкурс в Москве.

РЕШЕНИЕ

Рассмотрев множество вариантов, по предложению агентства объектом конкурса была выбрана знаковая для Москвы постройка ― кинотеатр «Россия» (также известный как «Пушкинский»), расположенный в центре города и в течение 50 лет бывший официальным местом проведения Московского международного кинофестиваля.

Для позиционирования конкурса в среде архитекторов, к партнёрству был привлечён Союз архитекторов России, глава которого, Андрей Боков, возглавил международное жюри, включавшее не только архитекторов из разных стран, но и деятелей культуры, таких как режиссёр Алексей Учитель. К партнёрству с конкурсом также была привлечена компания «КАРО-Фильм», владелец здания, что повышало вероятность того, что конкурсные проекты могут лечь в основу реконструкция кинотеатра. Также поддержку конкурсу оказало правительство Москвы и главный архитектор города.

Контекстом для конкурса служили неоднократные обсуждавшиеся намерения московских властей реконструировать кинотеатр, однако главной задачей взаимодействия со СМИ было привлечение внимания журналистов, потенциальных участников и общественности к конкурсу и развить эту тему в направлении перспектив использования новейших фасадных технологий.

Для этого с каждой категорией СМИ был выбран индивидуальный подход работы. Для деловых СМИ информация подавалась с точки зрения перспектив инвестирования в реконструкцию значимых архитектурных объектов, для общественно-политических СМИ — изменения облика центра столицы, для специализированных архитектурных — уникального шанса для архитекторов представить свои творческие идеи, а для специализированных кинематографических СМИ — возможной реконструкции самого известного премьерного кинотеатра и площадки проведения ММКФ.

Также был организован ряд специальных проектов, например телеканал «Дождь» провёл исследование мнения москвичей, каким они видят кинотеатр после реконструкции.

Была организована пресс-конференция, посвященная официальному старту конкурса «Меняя облик – кинотеатр Пушкинский». Новость о старте конкурса быстро привлекла внимание общественности и СМИ.

В рамках взаимодействия и привлечения к участию в конкурсе архитекторов, компанией DuPont были организованы профессиональные семинары в Санкт-Петербурге, Екатеринбурге, Москве и Алма-Ате, на которых известные зарубежные архитекторы представили свои проекты и поделились опытом применения решений DuPont в строительстве и реконструкции фасадов. Для продвижения конкурса в международном архитектурном сообществе и привлечения большего количества российских и зарубежных участников были реализован ряд онлайн-проектов с авторитетными архитектурными порталами, такими как Architizer.com.

Агентством был адаптирована и разработана русская версия сайта конкурса www.changingtheface.com и проведена информационная кампания в поддержку конкурса в социальных сетях, блогах и форумах и популярных онлайн медиа, запущен видеоролик о конкурсе на портале YouTube.

Торжественная церемония награждения победителей конкурса состоялась в Центральном доме архитекторов, после нее на несколько недель открылась выставка самых интересных проектов участников.

РЕЗУЛЬТАТ

Результатом масштабной международной кампании по привлечению внимания общественности и СМИ к конкурсу стало рекордное количество заявок — 2591 заявка из 96 стран мира, в том числе 397 из России.

Всестороннее освещение конкурса в ведущих деловых, общественно-политических, специализированных печатных и интернет СМИ, а также в блогах и социальных сетях через позволило добиться следующих медиа-результатов: 37 600 уникальных посетителей официального сайта конкурса www.changingtheface.com; более 200 000 просмотров фото проектов в официальной фотогалерее конкурса на Flickr.com; почти 15 00 просмотров ролика конкурса на официальном канале YouTube; более 380 публикаций в печатных и интернет-СМИ. Мастер-классы с участием известных российских и зарубежных архитекторов посетили более 450 человек.

Выступая на церемонии награждения победителей конкурса, Влодек Собон, куратор программы DuPont «Changing the Face», сказал: «Москва — шестой город, где DuPont организует архитектурный конкурс. Число проектов, представленных международным архитектурным сообществом в этом году, значительно превысило наши самые смелые ожидания, а их качество позволяет утверждать, что это лучший из проведённых нами конкурсов за всё время существования проекта».

Все проекты